Windows 8

I’m testing the new Windows 8 Developer Preview. To download it go to: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/home/

I installed it yesterday and I’ve been playing with it for a couple of hours. Here are some of my impressions.

  • I’ve installed it over a Lenovo S10-3 with RAM of 2Gb, Intel Atom N455 Processor of 1.67 Ghz.
  • The installation time is very short, between 20-25 minutes to install the OS plus a few more minutes to set the configuration of the account.
  • Most of the default direct accesses in the Metro UI don’t work. Internet Explorer doesn’t open when I click on it.
  • Windows 8 is installed in a 30 Gb dedicated partition of my netbook.
  • It is installed in the partition labeled with the letter G:; however, this unit appears labeled with the letter C: when I’m inside windows 8, that implies that my other two partitions appear with a different unit letter.
  • Wireless, Bluetooth, brightness, volume, and the pad work perfectly. I only had to install the drivers for the Lenovo Energy Management and the mouse pad.
  • With only the desktop and the Metro UI running it uses approximately 625 Mb. of RAM
  • I’ve already downloaded Google Chrome which is my main web browser. It works normally  in Windows 8.
  • I DON’T like the new office 2007-style ribbon that has been added to the Windows Explorer.
  • I like the way the taskbar changes its color when the background wallpaper is changed.
Click on the images to see them bigger.

Posted on 17 September, 2011, in internet, personal, technology and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.